My dear friend  Liliana Negoi tagged me with this four question blog challenge, and so I do my part to be a champion of order and preserve the natural balance of the universe by providing my answers. And thus it begins:

1. What am I working on?

Presently I’m concentrating on the completion of my Prometheus Saga story for the Alvarium Experiment. I’ll be blogging soon on the subject, as I’m pretty excited to join forces with a group of talented writers and partake in this experimental form of connected publishing. The title of the story is The Blurred Man, and will debut in mid-January 2015. In addition to exploring a shared character with the other authors on the team, the story will also be a bridge of sorts from The Aberration to its upcoming sequel. In the meantime, I’ll tease a bit with the cover art:

Prometheus_The-Blurred-Man

2. How does my work differ from others on its genre?

Tough question to answer because I’m honestly not the most qualified person to judge that. Obviously I feel that my work is unique and singular to my ‘style’ of writing, but it’s really the readers that are the true judges. I take a lot of familiar archetypes and remix them in my writing, so that hopefully the readers can jump in without feeling lost, yet at the same time enjoy the work without feeling like they’ve been there before. It’s a fine line to walk, but it’s the only way that I can do what I do and enjoy it. Hopefully the readers do as well.

3. Why do I write what I write?

I follow only one rule when writing: write what I want to read. And that’s why I churn out tales of gritty futures and far-flung fantasy. That’s what I’m into. That’s what I enjoy as a reader. On a more intimate note, I write because I’m driven by a never-ending stream of stories that threaten to  overflow the levees of my consciousness and threaten to drown me in a stormy sea of characters and plotlines. Writing is the only way to stay afloat.

4. How does my writing process work?

I’ll let you know when I actually develop one. I’m a heavily motivated, highly undisciplined, easily distracted writer. I hate to admit it, but there it is. When I do write it’s strictly flying by the seat of my pants, words flowing from my brain to the keyboard. No outlines, no serious planning. I walk around all day with stories churning in my head, so when I sit down I never suffer from writer’s block. I just let the storm break and pick up the pieces in the editing process.

And so it ends. The world may keep spinning, its inhabitants blissfully unaware that their continued existence depended on these answers. I hereby nominate H. Leighton Dickson and Charles A. Cornell to carry the torch, because they use initials in their author names, and I don’t. The world is in your hands, my friends.

Bard Writes Books. Gritty futures and far-flung fantasy have a home at http://bardwritesbooks.com. Be sure to pick up his latest release: The Eye of Everfell: Book One Of the Shadow Battles

The Eye of Everfell 01

